Facebook Frustration: attempting to communicate with Facebook – the broken page

23 Feb

Grrrrrrrrrrr. The Gods of Facebook are not kind.

Image by Pete Prodoehl (Flickr)

Last week I created a custom URL for our new page on Facebook International Futures, and since then the page has been broken. Repeatedly getting ‘Page not Found’ errors. It is still there, just access is intermittent.

I have tried:

Over the course of a week I have got nowhere. I have had no communication from them so I have no idea when it will be fixed, if ever. I know Facebook is big, I am small, and they are terribly busy. But it seems they can’t even send an automatic message acknowledging receipt of my report.  There is no excuse for this. Why should Facebook make me feel small? The message I am getting is that I don’t matter to Facebook, users don’t matter.

And it leaves the team just waiting. We want to put the URL on promotional materials, but how can we do that if we don’t know if and when it will work?

If there was an alternative to Facebook I would leave in a heartbeat – I have such negative feelings about the brand now.

I have had no communication from them so I have no idea when it will be fixed, if ever.
One Response to “Facebook Frustration: attempting to communicate with Facebook – the broken page”

  1. Mike March 19, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    It’s a real problem for business with so many users to offer competent technical support. They must put in place some BI that would figure out which people, like you, bang their heads against a sealed wall. Good luck with your problem, hope you get many Facebook fans soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

